Leawood Baptist Church logo


The Seasons of Life


“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven.” - Ecclesiastes 3:1

THE SPRING OF LIFE (birth through adolescence)

  • A time of birth, growth, transition, change
  • A time of spiritual dependence
  • A time of spiritual beginnings and learnings
  • Scriptures: Deuteronomy 6:4-9, Job 29:23-34, Hosea 6:3, Luke 18:16-17
  • THE SUMMER OF LIFE (young adult into middle age)

  • A time of activity, structuring, stabilizing, nurturing
  • A time of spiritual formation
  • A time for spiritual cultivation and development
  • Scriptures: Proverb 10:5, Isaiah 28:4-6, Luke 21:29-31, Ephesians 4:14-15, I Corinthians 14:20, James 1:22-25
  • THE AUTUMN OF LIFE (middle age into older years)

  • A time of maturity, experience, stability, structure
  • A time of spiritual examination
  • A time for spiritual review and refinement
  • Scriptures: Jeremiah 5:24, Isaiah 9:3, Psalm 77:11-12,
  • I Corinthians 9:10-11, Hebrews 5:14 and 6:1

    THE WINTER OF LIFE (older years to earthly death)

  • A time of wisdom, warmth, pondering, transition
  • A time of spiritual reflection
  • A time for spiritual affirmation and enhancement
  • Scriptures: Genesis 8:22, Psalm 74:17, Proverb 25:13, Philippians 1:21 and 3:13-21, I Corinthians 15:50-58
  • Dr. Mike McKinney - Pastor

    January 2013

    ArrowIcon BloggerIcon AimIcon DeliciousIcon PaperIcon EtsyIcon FacebookIcon FilmStripIcon FlickrIcon CameraIcon LaunchIcon GooglePlus2Icon GooglePlusIcon HeartIcon InformationIcon InstagramIcon LastfmIcon FrontCameraIcon LinkedInIcon EmailIcon MoneyIcon ItunesIcon MyspaceIcon OpenTableIcon PayPalIcon PencilIcon PersonIcon PhotoIcon PicasaIcon PinterestIcon PodcastIcon RssIcon ShoppingCartIcon SoundCloudIcon StarIcon TableProjectIcon TheCityIcon TumblrIcon Twitter2Icon TwitterIcon TypepadIcon VideoIcon VimeoIcon WordPressIcon YelpIcon YoutubeIcon